image association

English

AP Fachübersetzungen offers its clients translation and interpreting services into/from the English language. We provide high-quality document translation in technical, medical and legal fields, as well as certified translation services into/from English.

 

The English Language: Statistics and Facts

English is the second most common language in the world after Chinese. 400 million people claim it as their native language. It is recognised as an official language in the United States, Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Malta, Australia and New Zealand, and is also used as an official language in more than 70 territories.

The influence of the English language in the fields of music, film, science, broadcasting and the Internet over the past decades has made it not just the most wide-spread language in the world, but also the second most popular to learn.

Because of the need for English language proficiency in many areas of science, industry and business, Ministries of Education in many countries have introduced the English language into the school curriculum, at least at a basic level.

English is used for writing and speaking more than in any other language. More than 700 million people speak English as a foreign language.

Of the more than 2,700 languages in the world, the English language has the richest vocabulary. The Oxford English Dictionary lists about 500 000 words, and that is not counting about half a million technical and scientific terms.

English belongs to the Germanic family of the Indo-European languages.

 

History of the English Language

The native people of the British Isles, the Celts, communicated in their native Celtic language until about the 5th century, until the English language was brought in by the Germanic tribes Angles, Saxons and Jutes, formerly inhabiting the Jutland peninsula (modern territory of Denmark and Germany). Currently, Celtic speakers live only in the outlying areas of Britain - Scotland, Wales and Cornwall. The name for the language that was established in the British Isles is derived from one the Germanic tribes by the same name - the Angles, which in turn were named after their homeland, Engle.

The formation of the English language happened in spurts as a result of two major historical events in the history of Britain. Starting in the 8th century, the British coast was subject to regular attacks by the Vikings, who spoke a Scandinavian language, and by the 9th century the Vikings had conquered almost all the Anglo-Saxon kingdoms. In the 11th century, the island was invaded by the Normans, speakers of the French language speakers. In this regard, the history of the English language can be divided into several periods:

The Old English period of the language (Anglo-Saxon) lasted from the 5th to the 11th century. The basis of the Old English language was the dialects of Germanic peoples, such as the Angles, Saxons and Jutes. Later, the English language was enriched by the Scandinavian tongue of their new conquerors, the Vikings. Since the languages of German and Scandinavian tribes belonged to different branches of the same Germanic group of the language tree, no particular difficulties arose when they were mixed. The resulting influence of Scandinavian languages on the English language was only a slight simplification of morphology and grammar.

The historical period of use of Old English coincided with the adoption of Christianity in Britain. Because of this, English acquired a lot of Latin and Greek words. The conquest of Britain by the Normans changed the entire political and cultural life of the region and has had the greatest influence on the English language in its history.

The medieval period stretched from the 11th to the 16th century. At this time, the Norman kings and nobles spoke an Anglo-Norman language, a version of French, while the common people continued to speak Old English. Literary writings in those days were created in Old French, while religious ceremonies were conducted in Latin. Thus, Middle English was formed.

The modern period of English came next. The end of the 15th and the beginning of the 16th century marked the final establishment of the Modern English language, the complete formation of which was accomplished by the beginning of the 18th century. Present-day English is distinguished from the eighteenth century language in pronunciation only.

 

Interesting Facts

- The motto on the coat of arms of Great Britain is written in French: «Dieu et mon droit» ("God and my right").

- "Moment" was the name of a Middle English measure of time - equal to one-and-a-half minutes.

- The first Roman settlement in the area of modern London was established about 2,000 years ago.

- Punctuation in the English language only appeared in the 15th century.

- In Illinois, according to state law, it is illegal to speak English, as the only official language is "American".

 

Connect with us

For more information about our translations from/into English please call +49 (0) 911 - 650 08 650 or send your request by e-mail to info@ap-fachuebersetzungen.de, and we will contact you as soon as possible.

image association

Englisch

Das Nürnberger Übersetzungsbüro AP Fachübersetzungen bietet seinen Kunden Übersetzungs- sowie Dolmetschdienstleistungen aus und in die englische Sprache. Wir garantieren hochqualitative Übersetzungen in den Fachrichtungen Technik, Medizin, Recht sowie beglaubigte Übersetzungen aus der und in die englische(n) Sprache.

 

Fakten und Statistik zur englischen Sprache

Nach Chinesisch ist Englisch die meist verbreitetste Sprache weltweit und ist für 400 Millionen Menschen die Muttersprache. Englisch ist eine offizielle Sprache in den USA, Großbritannien, Irland, Kanada, Malta, Australien und Neuseeland und wird in mehr als 70 Territorien als offizielle Sprache verwendet.

Der Einfluss der englischen Sprache auf die Gesellschaft über Musik, Kino, Wissenschaft, Rundfunk und Internet im Laufe der letzten Jahrzehnte machte sie zur verbreitetsten und zweitpopulärsten Sprache der Welt.

Da Englischkenntnisse in vielen Bereichen der Wissenschaft, Produktion und Unternehmensführung notwendig sind, haben Bildungsministerien vieler Staaten das Unterrichten der englischen Sprache in ihr Schulprogramm aufgenommen.

Unter den weltweit mehr als 2.700 Sprachen hat die englische den größten Wortschatz. Das Oxford-Wörterbuch der englischen Sprache zählt ungefähr 500.000 Wörter, darüber hinaus nahezu eine halbe Million technische und wissenschaftliche Begriffe, die nicht mitgezählt werden.

Englisch zählt zu den germanischen Sprachen der indoeuropäischen Familie.

 

Geschichte der englischen Sprache

Die Ureinwohner der Britischen Inseln, die Kelten, kommunizierten untereinander in ihrer Muttersprache – auf Keltisch ungefähr bis zum 5. Jh. Später kamen dorthin die Stämme der Germanen, Angeln, Sachsen und Jüten, die früher auf der Halbinsel Jütland lebten (heutige Gebiete Dänemarks und Deutschlands). Heute leben keltische Muttersprachler nur in Randgebieten Britanniens: Schottland, Wales und Cornwall. Die auf den Britischen Inseln etablierte englische Sprache hat ihren Namen von einem der germanischen Stämme, den Angeln, die sich nach ihrer Herkunft „Engle“ nannten.

Die Entstehung der englischen Sprache verlief sprunghaft als Folge von zwei wichtigen historischen Ereignissen in der Geschichte Britanniens. Ab dem 8. Jh. wurden die britischen Küsten regelmäßig von Wikinger überfallen. Diese sprachen eine skandinavische Sprache. Im 9. Jh. hatten die Wikinger fast alle angelsächsischen Königreiche erobert. Im 11. Jh. wurden die Inseln von Normannen überfallen, die Französisch sprachen. Daher ist es üblich, die Entwicklung der englischen Sprache in zwei Abschnitte zu teilen.

Die Altenglische (Angelsächsische) Sprachperiode dauerte vom 5.-11. Jh. Die Grundlage des Altenglischen machten die Dialekte germanischer Stämme, wie der Angeln, Sachsen und Jüten, aus. Später entwickelte sich die Sprache durch die skandinavischen Sprachen weiter, die mit den neuen Eroberern, den Wikinger, ins Land kam. Da die Sprachen germanischer und skandinavischer Stämme zu den verschiedenen Zweigen des gemeinsamen, germanischen Sprachstammbaumes zählten, gab es keine großen Schwierigkeiten bei der lexikalischen Vermischung der beiden Sprachen. Letztendlich zeigte sich der Einfluss der skandinavischen Sprache auf die englische nur durch eine geringe Vereinfachung in der Morphologie und Grammatik.

Die historische Periode des Altenglischen schloss sich an die Zeit der Konvertierung ins Christentum in Britannien an. Aus diesem Grund gingen ins Englische auch zahlreiche lateinische und griechische Wörter ein. Die Eroberung Britanniens durch die Normannen veränderte das politische und kulturelle Leben der Region stark und bedeutete den größten Einfluss in der Geschichte der englischen Sprache.

Die Mittelalterliche Periode dauerte vom 11.-16. Jh. In diesem Zeitraum sprachen normannische Könige und die Elite anglonormannisch, eine Art des Französischen, wobei das gemeine Volk weiterhin Altenglisch sprach. Dabei wurden damals schriftliche und literarische Quellen auf Altfranzösisch verfasst und religiöse Rituale auf Latein. So entstand die mittelalterliche englische Sprache.

Ende des 15. Jh., Anfang des 16. Jh. entstand die moderne englische Sprache, die zum Anfang des 18. Jh. vollendet wurde. Die moderne englische Sprache der heutigen Zeit unterscheidet sich von der des 18. Jh. nur in der Aussprache.

 

Interessante Fakten:

- Die Losung auf dem Wappen Großbritanniens lautet auf Französisch: „Dieu et mon droit“ („Gott und mein Recht“);

- Das „Moment“ war eine mittelalterliche Maßeinheit in England, die ungefähr eineinhalb Minuten gleicht.

- Die erste Römersiedlung im heutigen Stadtteil City of London entstand vor etwa 2.000 Jahren.

- Satzzeichen im Englischen entstanden erst im 15. Jh.

- Im US-Bundesstaat Illinois ist die Sprache Englisch gesetzlich verboten. Offiziell gilt nur eine Sprache: „Amerikanisch“.

 

Unsere Kontaktdaten

Sollten Sie weitere Informationen über unsere Übersetzungen aus der und in die englische(n) Sprache benötigen, dann erreichen Sie uns unter der Telefonnummer +49 (0)911 – 650 08 650 (Nürnberg) oder senden Sie uns eine Anfrage an info(at)ap-fachuebersetzungen.de. Wir werden sobald wie möglich mit Ihnen Kontakt aufnehmen.